Inspiration

Inspiration

I received a mail yesterday from an old friend of mine. It was a link to a blog that discusses life on an organic farm, Bold Point, on Quadra Island. I have been going there with family and friends for years. In addition to the fantastic company – Rod and Geraldine – are wonderful hosts, I love spending time on Quadra as it reminds me of what is really important. It’s funny how the simplest and most basic things in life like preparing a meal are so overly complicated in the city. Even if it is a little after the fact – Rod’s Christmas post got me thinking about my ambitions for starting this blog in the first place. I wanted to write about my efforts to connect with the place where I live, wherever that may be and for however long, and to be a conscious consumer who supports local producers and vendors. What I have found is that while there may be occasional challenges, like walking for 30 mins to find a decent store in order to avoid Wal Mart, seeking out “the local” is a great way to meet people and really get acquainted with a city.

Rod’s post “Christmas Giving – Rethink” is a little food for thought – Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

