Favourite spots to stop

IMG_0301IMG_0286One of the best but also the most challenging things about returning to a place you know so well is choosing which of your favourite eateries, stores and neighbourhoods you’re going to visit. I had this dilemma on my most recent trip to beautiful British Columbia.

My first stop in Vancouver was of course Granville Island. It’s always so vivacious. Even on this cool January day the urban market / food fair was just as busy as it would be on a warm summer’s day. Some crazy people were even brave enough to snack on Fish and Chips and hot french onion soups blanketed in puff pastry outside. Anyone who has ever been to the Granville Island food fair knows the soup dish I’m talking about. I myself had what I believe to be one of the best veggie burgers in the city with a side of fries. After all aren’t holidays about indulging.

IMG_0284IMG_0282

A place that I love in Vancouver for the sentiment more than anything else is JapaDog. This ever expanding hot dog stand on Burrard Street sells hot dogs topped in all kinds of Japanese flavourings like daikon radish instead of sauerkraut, wasabi mayonnaise, and other pickled peppers. More than anything else it’s the name and the multicultural city that it stands for which makes it one of my favourite spots. Unfortunately I didn’t have the time or the stomach for street food this trip.

Another BC classic and a personal go to food for me is Sushi. Gotta love the West Coast weather and Avocado Yam rolls. A friend and I shared a light treat on the back patio of a Suhsi cafe in Victoria’s Cook Street Village. Apparently we really were dining West Coast style by enjoying a great snack in the great outdoors.

IMG_0308IMG_0310

As much as I love returning to my favourite spots I always enjoy trying something new. I stayed with my aunt and uncle in New Westminster for a couple of days and they took me down to the River Market at the New Westminster Quay. I was totally impressed with the place. It wasn’t the food fair and market I remembered visiting as a child, but it was lively nonetheless. Two things that really caught my eye at this indoor marketplace and food fair was the meals on wheels delivery system for people who live in the area and a Tea Shop called the Great Wall of Tea.

I love to travel, but I love to come home. This year I hope to find some great local spots in Sault Ste. Marie that I’ll want to return to time and time again.

Leave a Reply

