Pan e Tulapani

It’s another busy week for me here in the “Soo” as I try to find an apartment and get aquatinted with my new town. Tonight I had a wonderful dinner at a new friend’s place in the Soo. It wasn’t Pan e Tulpani, the Italian restaurant I visited in Lake Como and wrote about in the following journal entry, but the food was home cooked and delicious and I am reminded of the joy I get out of dining with friends. Image“Not to play into the stereotype, but if there is one thing that I expected of my first trip to Italy it was that I would be eating delicious food. Image

From where we are staying at Lake Lugano Switzerland it is only about a 20 minute train trip to Lake Como. How cool is that? Lake Como is picturesque. There is no wonder that the celebrities have flocked here over the years. That said I did not come across George Clooney, which seemed to be the running joke around there. He must be more famous in this part of Europe than he is in North America. I guess we can thank his ads with Nescafe for that. Personally I think the natural beauty was much more enthralling. In Como we went for a fantastic lunch at a quaint cafe called Pan e Tulapani (Bread and Tulips), which is apparently the name of a charming Italian film that I will be sure to watch very soon. (Since writing this journal entry I have watched the movie and can report that it is indeed very darling)

Image

Pan e Tulepani was Italian lunching at its finest. Although the restaurant looked small from the street its size was deceiving. The place was split into several smaller rooms. We ended up in the back room, where they stored the wine. We dined amongst shelves of vino and books on cooking and gardening. As is usually the case when traveling I never get enough greens. So, when I get a chance I try and order a salad. I ordered a black rice salad with rucola and fried cheese. Although it wasn’t an abundant bed of green leafies as I hoped, the flavours were divine as was the presentation. The perfectly firm and lightly seasoned black rice was moulded into a  circle that was topped with soft cheese that just softly melted over the edges of the rice. The rucola was incorporated into the rice adding a touch of green and gentle bite of bitterness.”Image

Leave a Reply

