Lunch at El Quim

I’m back in Barcelona and this time I’m with my mom who is a Spanish food and wine fanatic. Like mother, like daughter. On the plane ride over here from Basel I picked up a copy of EasyJet’s inflight magazine that covers a feature story of all the best places to check out in each of the cities they fly to. This month’s issue featured a chef who operates a small restaurant in the Boqueria Market. Unsurprisingly the owner of this restaurant claims that the best place to eat and shop like a local in Barcelona is at the Boqueria Market. I couldn’t agree more.

The first couple of times I went to the Market I was a little intimidated to sit up at the bar, because I wasn’t sure how it all worked. In fact it was all pretty simple. Mom and I sat down just as another couple was leaving and as we did a “cool” dude with that kind of tattooed cool guy look brought as a menu and welcomed us to the place. That’s when my mom pointed it out to me and him that he was the man from the article. “Hey! You’re the guy from the magazine” she said. He gave us an understated smile, but who doesn’t like to get noticed every once in a while.

Since my graduation about a week ago I think I have had a Prosecco almost everyday and since being in Spain a glass of Cava. So, not to break any traditions I started with that. Mom had a glass of Spanish Rosé as she has it in her head that it’s “The Drink” in Europe during the summer. It seems that seafood was really the speciality at this place and why wouldn’t it be with all the fantastic seafood available in this city. As much as I love it I try to stick to being a vegetarian as much as possible. Despite that we ended up having a really great vegetarian lunch. We had a mix of aubergine, peppers and onions topped with fresh greens, and Patatas Bravas. After doing some other shopping and buying the ingredients for a mushroom rissoto later tonight, we each had a fresh Zumo – fruit juice, which gave us the energy to walk home in the heat.

Apart from the fantastic El Quim restaurant in the Boqueria Market, I would also recommend checking out Paco Meralgo. It’s a really busy spot so I would make a reservation if you can, but their Tapas are the best I’ve tried so far.

Leave a Reply

